AB Direct - Steers

Live: ---
Rail: 293.50-295.50 FOB lot Last week

AB Direct - Heifers

Live: ---
Rail: 293.50-295.50 FOB lot last week

US Trade- Steers

Live: 135.00-137.00 (TX, KN), 140.00-144.00 (NE) Last week
Rail: 225.00-232.00 (NE, IA) Last week

US Trade - Heifers

Live: 135.00-137.00 (TX,KN) 140.00-144.00 (NE) Last week
Rail: 225.00-232.00 (NE, IA) Last week

Canadian Dollar

$77.82
0.55
July 26, 2021

What We’re Reading | On the Frontlines: An inside look at meat inspection during COVID-19

It’s been a tough year and a half. Everyone has endured their share of adversity during the COVID-19 pandemic, including those working in meat slaughter inspection.

My name is Ryan Morris. I grew up in the beautiful town of Lacombe, Alberta before moving to Calgary to pursue an education. I graduated from the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology in 2005 as a Chemical Engineering Technologist and worked in the oil and gas industry for 11 years before joining the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) in 2017 as a meat inspector. Currently, I work as a meat inspection supervisor.

I couldn’t be happier to be working at the CFIA. The opportunity to work in a position that makes a positive contribution to the country is something that I don’t take lightly and makes the job very rewarding.

CFIA inspectors have worked tirelessly on the front lines throughout the pandemic to ensure Canadians have access to safe, high-quality food. Like many others, the pandemic forced meat inspectors to change the way we function so we could continue providing a critical service to the public: providing safe food for Canadians. There were many challenges that were necessary to overcome to allow our inspection team to continue providing the service expected of us by the public, and I’m proud to say that we met those challenges through courage and determination.

Read More

‘What We’re Reading’ is a quick look at some of the issues and insights Alberta Beef Producers’ content creators and editors are reading to stay up-to-date, to broaden perspectives, and to explore issues relevant to the agriculture industry.

Share this on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Top Stories

August 8, 2022 Current Markets & Forecasts

Canfax Weekly Article | Report for the week of August 8, 2022

August 5, 2022 Checking in with ABP

July Auction Market Update

August 2, 2022 Issues & Insights

What We're Reading | Optimism has returned with the rains for the cattle sector

Cattle Report

Updated: 08/08/2022

Steers

Live: ---
Rail: 293.50-295.50 FOB lot Last week

Heifers

Live: ---
Rail: 293.50-295.50 FOB lot last week

Choice Steers

Live: 135.00-137.00 (TX, KN), 140.00-144.00 (NE) Last week
Rail: 225.00-232.00 (NE, IA) Last week

Choice Heifers

Live: 135.00-137.00 (TX,KN) 140.00-144.00 (NE) Last week
Rail: 225.00-232.00 (NE, IA) Last week

Boner Cows

Over 500 lbs: US$ 161.59

Canadian Dollar

$77.82   0.55

Livestock Price Insurance Index

Expiry Fed Feeder Calf
31-Oct 174 226 -
28-Nov 172 222 -
23-Jan 184 224 -
20-Feb 184 226 -
20-Mar 184 228 -
17-Apr 192 228 -
Last Updated on August 4, 2022